Accessibility Statement (Coming soon)

Click the icon for a change of contrast in the page style: Change Contrast
(To be enabled soon)

Header Level 2 example

Header Level 3 example

This is how the standard text on the page will be seen.

Kielder Water Sailing Club

Steve Gibbon - RYA North East Regional Volunteer Team Chairman and RYA Council Member 2012-2016

Brian Coates - RYA Outstanding Achievement Volunteer Community Award 2016

Julie Gibbon - RYA Outstanding Achievement Volunteer Community Award 2014

Ben Russell - 2014 RYA North East Regional Youth Champion

Christina Coates - 2012 RYA NE Young Sailor of the Year - awarded 12th January 2013

Steve Gibbon - RYA Outstanding Achievement Volunteer Award and Award of Merit for Coaching from Tynedale Sports Council, 2011.

Mike Collins - RYA Community Award Medal 2007

Tom Holland - 2006 RYA NE Young Sailor of the Year - awarded Jan 7 2007

Fergus Holland - 2004 RYA NE Young Sailor of the Year - awarded April 2 2005

The Commodore's Cup

Commodore's Cup

The Commodore's Cup was donated by Steve Gibbon and first awarded at the annual dinner dance in Nov 2007. The intention of this award is that the current Commodore may award it for whatever reason he/she alone decides.

2016 saw the award go to Jo Elliot for her dedication to T15 providing support and training throughout the year.

In 2015 The Commodore's Cup was awarded jointly to Michell Russell and Frank Stewart for their work in encouraging Optimist Sailing and Coaching at the club and for their support with youngsters travelling to Optimist coaching and events.

2014 saw the cup awarded to Graham Thumwood for his services as Bosun over several years.

In 2013 the well deserved winner of the Commodore's Cup was Julie Gibbon for her continued hard work in fund raising and dedication to training including organisation of all training courses at KWSC.

2012 saw Brian Coates and Christina Coates as joint winners of the Commodore's Cup for their sterling efforts to promote windsurfing and gaining Team 15 staus for the club.

In 2011 joint winners were announced - Brian Coates for his hard work in reinvigorating windsurifng at the club and Alec Vallance for his amazing efforts in getting essential things done around the place at very short notice!

In 2010 the Cup was awarded to Julie Gibbon for her sterling contribution to many aspects of life at Kielder Water Sailing Club, both on and off the water.

In 2008/9 Michael Fleming was the much deserved recipeint of the Commodore's Cup for his unstinting support of the club during the difficult period of the MAIB and RYA nvestigation into the tragic accident during 2009. In addition Michael was an ever present support at cruise weekends, major events and working parties putting a tremendous amount of effort into the club during the year.

Dave Drewery

In the season 2007/8 the recipient of the Commodore's Cup was Dave Drewery. Dave is a very early member of the club and a very long serving Princiapl and Senior Instructor. Dave stood down from his training responsibilities at the end of 2008 to spend his precious time on his own sailing. We are deeply indebted to Dave for his initiatives to revamp training at Kielder over 13 years ago and lead it to the very major club asset it now is. Many of us in the club owe Dave a deep debt of gratitude for his patence and skill either in training courses or through his leadership in the training team. Dave is a well deserved recipient of this award - our many thanks.

In the first year the Commodore's Cup was awarded to a very hard working pair of volunteers, Mike and Jo Collins. Without Mike and Jo, and others like them, KWSC would be a far poorer club in so many ways. This couple serve as volunteers and keep the club running in so many ways - they put far more into the club than they get out of it I am sure. We are all indebited to their continual support and thank them enormously. This award is well deserved and in its inaugral year there could be no better example.

Scroll To The Top